Training Centres

Freeman Hospital

The Freeman Hospital & Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle

Sunderland Royal Hospital

Sunderland Royal Hospital, Sunderland

James Cook University Hospital

James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough

Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle

Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle

Trainees complete a 5-year program usually sitting the FRCS (Urol) exam after 4 years subject to internal assessment. Monthly educational sessions are hosted at the different teaching centres throughout the region to an annually published timetable. The education program is aimed at covering the the FRCS (Urol) cirriculum.

Trainees sit an in service EBU exam each February and are eligible to sit the FRCS (Urol) exam in their 5th year pending support from the regional training committee.  Further information regarding the exam is available from the intercollegiate and surg websites which can be found at the useful link section.

The training committee consists of the Chairman Mr David Thomas, Program Director Miss Jo Cresswell and Teaching Course Lead Mr Mark Johnson together with representatives for each of the teaching units. The recent trainee assessment exercise (TAP) organised by the deanery rated the Urology program as the best surgical training program in the region.

The FRCS Urol program and recent presentations are available to download here. Audit projects are an essential part of training and each trainee is expected to undertake an audit during each attachment. These audits are welcome for presentation at NEUS meetings.

Current Trainees

North Cumbria University Hospitals

1.  Jonathan Barclay

Newcastle Hospital Trust

  1. John Baillie
  2. Edward Calleja – Robotics Fellow
  3. Oliver Fuge
  4. Rahul Gujadhur
  5. Andrew Harris
  6. Alice Hartley – Research
  7. Kenneth MacKenzie – Paediatrics RVI
  8. Helen Morton – Research
  9. Simon Morton
  10. Mustafa Rifat
  11. Ashwin Sachdeva – Research
  12. Raveen Sandher


Sunderland Royal Infirmary / Durham

  1. John Fitzgerald
  2. Thomas Lee
  3. Luke McGuinness
  4. Andrew Moon
  5. Joseph Odey
  6. Thiru Suntharasivam



South Tees Hospital Trust

  1. John Fitzpatrick
  2. Arjun Nambiar
  3. Campell Tait